‘Everyone’s a Winner’ At IBWA Show

The International Bottled Water Association held its annual convention and trade show in Las Vegas, Oct. 3-6. Joseph K. Doss, IBWA president and chief executive officer, emphasized the convention’s theme in his President’s Report.
“The theme for this year’s convention and trade show is ‘Everyone’s a Winner,’” Doss said. “This is particularly appropriate for a meeting of IBWA members since we sell a healthy, safe food product that has won the allegiance and trust of millions of consumers. The proof of this is demonstrated by the continued growth of both bottled water sales and consumption.”
Doss also highlighted the state and federal government work the IBWA has performed in the past year on behalf of its members. He pointed out the association has been instrumental in fighting “unwarranted legislation.” For the coming year, legislation regarding bottled water’s source, content, quality, packaging and recycling remains a focus in many areas. The association has joined the National Recycling Partnership and many other industry associations to develop a new campaign to promote recycling, he announced.
In addition, the IBWA presented several awards during the show. The “Best of Show” IBWA Aqua Award for outstanding and creative contributions in the field of marketing and public relations was awarded to Mountain Valley Spring Co. Aqua awards were also given in several promotional fields to small, medium and large companies. The association also honored its 2006 Route Salespersons of the Year. The recipients were Charles Campbell, Clear Mountain Spring Water; Dave (D.J.) Miskowiec, Culligan Bottled Water; and Thomas Carter, DS Waters/Sierra Springs. New this year, the association introduced the Director’s Award to recognize members whose advocacy, commitment and actions have achieved clear and measurable results. Shayron Barnes-Shelby, DS Waters of America LP, and Jan Saxman, Shenandoah Valley Water Co., received the inaugural award.
The IBWA announced its 2006-2007 officers, board members and executive committee at the show as well. The officers are: Charlie McCoy, CCDA Waters LLC, chairman; Chris Saxman, Shenandoah Valley Water Co., vice chairman; Dimitrios Smyrnios, Nestle Waters of North America Inc., treasurer; Phil Susterick, Culligan Bottled Water Co., immediate past chairman. Also elected and/or reelected to the Board of Directors for a three-year term were: McCoy; James J. Land, Jr., Wissahickson Spring Water; and Dan Kelly, Polymer Solutions International.
Doss also announced that the board of directors has amended the IBWA’s show schedule to host a table-top trade show in odd-numbered years and full trade show in even-numbered years. Next year’s annual convention will feature a table-top trade show during the supplier’s opening reception as well as its annual business meeting, educational sessions and other networking events. He said co-location with Pack Expo, Oct. 15-17, 2007, in Las Vegas is being considered. In 2008, the IBWA will have a regular convention and trade show.